Main Quest Complete

Over the past two years I’ve been developing an old-school open world tactical RPG. Between work and raising two young kids it can sometimes be difficult to find time to work on this hobby of mine and it’s almost impossible to find the time or motivation to post updates, but as of last month I reached an important milestone. The game’s main quest is now complete. This accomplishment gives me confidence that the game will be ready for release sometime this year.

That said, there are several things I need to do before the game will be ready for prime time. First, I need to finish developing the many optional side quests for each area. This is tricky because I want each side quest to be short, bite-sized, and fun while having a memorable story. Second, I need to finish adding music and sound effects to the game. I am hoping to write all of the music myself and this is not a small undertaking. Third, there are a myriad of small polish items and features that need to be implemented. Finally, I need to do thorough testing of the game on both Windows and Linux.

Now that the quick update is out of the way. Let’s take a look at the game. Below you can see the a hungry zombie eating the party’s barbarian.

Peek 2020-04-27 20-48

The hoplite throws his shield to hit multiple enemies at once.

Peek 2020-04-27 20-52

The salamander’s heated body and immunity to fire make it difficult to take down:

Peek 2020-04-27 20-44

We can’t speak to this desert tribe until we learn their language:

Peek 2020-04-27 20-56

It’s been too long since I updated this blog, but as I get closer to release I hope to post more frequent updates with information about the game. Stay tuned.